The 3 Month Diabetes Challenge Ends


I went to the Doctor last Tuesday November the 8th. On August 5th I had visited him and my numbers were pretty bad. A1C of 9.9 and a fasting blood sugar of 180. My weight was 216 and I set some goals, mainly to reduce my weight by 26 pounds, that would help get my numbers back in line.

I did a number of things to accomplish my goal, the first most important thing was to cut out the extra carbohydrates that I was eating and stick with a high protein diet. I did not cut out carbs altogether, just the ones that were extra or foods I shouldn’t have been eating in the first place. I also stopped eating after 9pm and going to bed to get a real nights rest. I started walking more, along with other more active exercise other than exercising my fingers and eyes at the computer.

My results, while 26 lbs was unreasonable but could have been accomplished did not happen. My weight at Tuesdays appointment was 195, a 21 lb weight loss. That is completely from not eating potatoes, pasta, desserts, white bread and cutting down on all bread to a reasonable level. My A1C number was 6.7, which is still elevated, but way closer to normal. It is also 3.2 points better, which is a dramatic change. My fasting blood sugar was 117 and could also have been better, but I had not exercised at all before the blood work and I still have work to do weight wise. On the whole I am completely happy with the effort, as was my Doctor who decided he doesn’t need to see me for6 months, instead of the 4 months we had been doing.

It can be done, you just have to try. You do not have to be a slave to your Diabetes, but only you can make that happen.

My new goals:

  1. Weight loss of 15 lbs to 180 lbs
  2. A1C number of 5.5
  3. Fasting blood sugar of 99
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

